4 Comments

*sigh* my task list, my need for control… also everything I want to do, see, create. So, both bad and good.

As much as I can, I celebrate Sabbath, and that’s good for my soul, to remember to lean into the goodness of creation and God’s love, completely separate from all the work I can and cannot do no matter how much rushing

Expand full comment

My rushing tends to land me INTO a clumsy moment - which I find simultaneously annoying and funny. I drop things, fumble, run into stuff, get my sleeve caught on a door handle... It feels like all my angels are reminding me in those moments to SLOW down and check IN with the sense of urgency. That seems to be the core of my rushing, a sense of urgency that is often out of place and usually connected, in a subconscious way, to approval. When I have the whiplash clutz moment fling me back to presence, I notice tension release and clenching relax. Breathing returns and my senses heighten. Immediately I can FEEL my world in it's complexity, and receive the gifts of the moment.

Expand full comment

For me I think caffeine is a big one that exacerbates my aggressive personality. Blue light from devices also spikes dopamine, eventually depleting it, leading to a "wired but tired" state. Ever since I've abandoned having a cell phone and decreased social media use, my anxiety has certainly lessened.

https://romanshapoval.substack.com/p/the-1-emf-youve-forgotten-about

Expand full comment
May 17, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

I'm sure I might have something else to say if I saw this later today, tomorrow, a week from now. I think about this a lot.

I rush, variously, because I'm impatient, high strung, and have a strong impulse to complete things. If I'm going somewhere I just want to get there. If I'm working on something, I just want to finish it.

Suffering (the word sounds more dramatic than I intend it) slows me down. I get into a "this too shall pass" mindset and just allow myself to endure quietly.

Recently, I've been trying to take "me time" and going to the beach near where I am and just parking a chair and sitting there for a while. What's weird is that my mind still rushes. Maybe because it's that time of year that it becomes a crowded beach--I'm very...socially conscious? and so the presence of people doesn't really let me relax.

Now that I'm thinking about it, what I really need is solitude out and away from my normal haunts. It's a skill to feel solitude in a crowd, and I don't have it. I need actual solitude. Will think on this.

Expand full comment