8 Comments
author

From the insightful Scoot via Chat:

"There's a lot up in the air right now for me but I keep telling myself now that little progress today is towards a better future tomorrow. Hard to see the bridge, but it's taking a lot of trust in God. Lots of fears and uncertainty, but the end goal takes shape a little bit every day."

Expand full comment
author

From the fantastic Ryan Lancaster via Chat:

"My depression gets so much worse in the winter and bad weather, so in April I started my newsletter and am getting in the habit of posting regularly because I know it will be good for my mental health. And then in may when it’s finally warm and sunny I’ll be able to write even more with a platform I’m familiar with! Important for me to always have something to work on that I’m excited about and this is a great way to do that."

Expand full comment
author

From dear Megan Meyer via Chat:

"Last May we began some big yard & house projects .... and then chaos erupted from several different angles, and those projects went unfinished. I’m hoping to get back to them this May as the weather warms, but also nervous they’ll still be unfinished! Energy is low after a full year of chronic stress. I’ve been gathering supplies so it’s less overwhelming to start when the weather is right, and I’m reminding myself that perfection isn’t necessary. If I just show up and move forward, that’s still something! Even newly planted plants aren’t as prolific their first year or two. Everything takes time. 🌿"

Expand full comment
author

From the wonderful Claire Venus via Chat:

"We have lots to do for our community soil project in May so there’s some focus on that and on enjoying the garden and outdoor spaces with the kids. In the UK we have three bank holidays and there’s a week off school for the kids too so lots of family time and 🤫 hopefully some sunshine to enjoy too!

I’m hoping to plant my dahlias in the ground too. ✨ 🌺"

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

"We humans are bizarrely capable of missing the obvious, even when it’s all around us." How VERY true! Think of how little children seem to notice everything: the ants on the sidewalk, the tiny daisies in the lawn, the dandelion fluff dancing in the sunlight. How sad that, as we age, we seem to lose that sense of sheer delight at the natural world. Thank you for reminding us -- reminding me -- that God is often hiding in plain sight, on wing and bough and blossom. He's laughing with pleasure at His creation while I'm too preoccupied to notice.

Expand full comment

I'm usually more upbeat in April because I love the Easter season. This year I'm struggling to get through the depression. I have gone outside and taken pictures of daffodils and violets. The tulips and forsythia are in bloom! It has finally stopped snowing here and that has helped.

May is the month of birthdays! We start off with my husband's birthday and end with mine. In between, we celebrate birthdays of all kinds. This is a big year. My son turned 18 in January. My daughter turned 21 in April. I turn 50 on Memorial Day Weekend. We are hoping for a road trip or something because the cabin fever is worse this year!

I'm mostly grateful for the return of light. Thanks for sharing yours! I'm hoping to officially launch my Substack, Celebrating the Light, in a week or so.

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

Test comment, assume its insightful

Expand full comment