8 Comments

Had an encounter with an Atlantic Parrot Fish whist snorkelling today. [https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stoplight_parrotfish#/media/File:Stoplight-parrotfish.jpg]. Although I fancied it only had regard for me, its good natured smile was on permanent display for all creatures of good will. Lesson learnt. 🐠

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

Yesterday I prayed a strong prayer for some human support. And today my mailbox revealed a little pine-scented candle made by the young teenager who lives across from us, whose family moved in not long ago. I was uncomfortable with the way the husband looked at me when we first met, so I keep my general distance, but I really like the mom and daughter. Once when they were driving by I happened to have picked some flowers and gave them to them in their bright yellow car. They were so happy with such a small gesture. Today it was my turn to be awed by the answer to prayer.

Expand full comment

After a period of extreme rain & several flash floods in our area, it’s finally dry again with sunshine and the late summer plants are blooming; the milkweed, hostas, & wooly rose mallow are all showing off this week. And, best of all, the sedum is beginning to bud - a sure sign autumn (my favorite season) is on its way soon. It’s been a joy to see the abundant beauty again after such awful weather for so long. (It’s not lost on me how this reflects the inner storms that have been happening the last few months, too).

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

I needed this reminder to count my blessings today. I am in a chaotic time of life, but that doesn't mean I am in a desert! I am surrounded with an abundance of love and respect from my family, friends, and colleagues; I am surrounded by an abundance of good people and an abundance of good work waiting for my unique touch.

These are consoling things to think about, thank you for the gratitude-break! God bless you!

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2022·edited Aug 19, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

I am experiencing an abundance of quality time with my adult children after several years of...well, not. Teenage kids pull away in their show of independence, especially boys, but they are all coming back around. All those days I grieved the losses are coming back in the form of abundance. There will be seasons of famine, but God will provide. And then He will restore and give you more than you could have imagined.

Expand full comment