3 Comments
Sep 21, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

Nostalgia is such a complicated feeling. I took my fiancé to visit my old college town and my ancestral family home and other old haunts not long ago. I can't say I was filled with Nostalgia--I wasn't sad, I don't *miss* the times I had there. But what surprised me was how many memories were stirred up, like poking a stick into muddy waters and seeing what comes up. Part of living in the same place for a long time, or being around the same people for a long time, means that you have more opportunities to remember things, to "groove" the neural pathways of memory so that they stay foremost in your mind and connect you in a deeper way to the people and places. This is a deeper sense of "community".

My family has moved away from our ancestral home. The old college town has developed dramatically since I was there: abandoned lots I used to walk by have been replaced with ostentatious storefronts; the campus building I spent most of my time in has been torn down and rebuilt in a bigger, grander, and--to me, anyway--uglier way (maybe it's only ugly because I have no connection to it anymore). I once described it to someone in this way: "I remember the town but I feel like the town doesn't remember me."

I was surprised at how quickly I had forgotten all the memories just from being away from them, and how easily they came flooding back when I was physically present again. I don't call this nostalgia--maybe I am wrong. I felt *good* despite all the changes because I had memories back which I had lost, the grooves in my mind were worn through again. Our memories don't represent things that are dead and gone, but rather things that formed and built us. They are the living roots of our lives. Just because they are out of sight doesn't mean they aren't there; doesn't mean they aren't keeping us alive. It was nice to reconnect in that way.

Thank you as always for this invitation to reflect!

Expand full comment

Autumn brings me back to the sweet smell of candles, spices, and pumpkin. And just the general smells of that time of the year. I remember going into the stores and seeing what kind of decorations and arrangements they had. I believe autumn was better, at least for me, earlier in life.

Right now, I can't do that because COVID put a wrench in that. I'm the caregiver to my Mother so we can't go out and enjoy it anymore. I miss going out with the crowds and doing fun things.

Nostalgia is part of what I talk about on my Substack. As far as nostalgia, I wish we could go back. It was a lot easier back then than it is now. I have so many stresses now; stresses that I never thought I would ever have.

Expand full comment

It depends on what memories are triggered...sometimes it’s good, but other times it can dredge up painful memories. I was just having this conversation with my husband the other night about the band Hanson 😂 I was a pre-teen when they first got big, and of course was obsessed. I quickly grew out of that phase, but even as an adult in her mid-30s I still respect the fact they were very young and had talent. However - listening to their music instantly transports me back to being 11 years old when tragedy struck our family and while most people seem thrilled to reminisce about “Mmmbop”... it makes me feel a little anxious and sad. That said, most music that brings nostalgia along comes with lots of joy!

Expand full comment