10 Comments

Some teachers who I reach for, from many disciplines, in no particular order:

N. T. Wright (English New Testament scholar, Pauline theologian and Anglican bishop)

Francis Schaeffer (American evangelical theologian, philosopher, and Presbyterian pastor)

Robin Wall Kimmerer (mother, scientist, decorated professor of Environmental and Forest Biology, and enrolled member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation)

Brandon Sanderson (American author of high fantasy and science fiction)

Tish Harrison Warren (priest in the Anglican Church in North America)

Sean Tucker (professional photographer and filmmaker based in the United Kingdom; more interested in the why of photography than the how)

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

This is a great question.

I found an online community of "thinkers" on Wordpress centered around one blog and it was great. I learned a lot. There's one brilliant writer whose blog I only discovered when these people announced he passed away. I spent months reading through his articles and clicking through links. His work popped my brain in the best of ways.

What I'm struggling with right now is that the community of "thinkers" is kind of falling apart. They've been gripped by despair and malaise, and sometime last year I stepped out of my comfort zone a bit and wrote a guest post for them that got absolutely shellacked--people hated it. It was about a controversial topic, but after that point the community there degraded. I used to be a barstool gadfly there too, I'd comment liberally and occasionally thoughtfully--I've had to dial it back to nothing.

It's been weird because these thinkers were people I looked up to and admired. In a few cases I still do--but the depth of despair that grips people, the anger and resentfulness when they lose hope. That makes me sad. I want to (and tried to) help! But it amounted to nothing.

So those are people I did follow and wanted to follow but have had to stop following, and the result is that I have had to follow my gut and instinct a little more--follow the holy spirit such as I can understand it. Definitely feel a void there still.

Expand full comment

For wisdom I enjoy the Stoics. Of those I've read, Epictetus stands out as a favourite - all of his works are lessons recorded by his student, and he gives the impression that Epictetus had a good sense of humour, as well as a healthy dose of 'old man grumpiness'.

Expand full comment

What a wonderful question, and a scrumptious discussion below! I'm taking notes joyfully!

My touchstones include...

Henri Nouwen (one of the first people I want to hug in heaven)

Anne Lamott

Brian Doyle

Thomas Merton

Madeleine L'Engle

Innumerable bloggers and light-bearers on Substack and beyond, including you!

Expand full comment