4 Comments

While I appreciate a fresh “reset” after the holidays (autumn is an intensely busy month at my job, which leads straight into the holidays which can feel chaotic in their own way).... and I love being back to routine....I have found over the years just getting back to a state of normalcy is resolution enough. It’s a time to rest after harvest & holidays. I used to feel the pressure to start new habits but the truth is I find it a time to get back to old habits I miss that serve me well.

Expand full comment
Jan 4, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

I tend to view the new year season as a well timed fresh start. By the end of the year I am usually so burdened with regrets I am grateful for an opportunity to forget it all and think about what lessons I have learned and what I will do differently. I used to charge into each new year thinking "this is going to be different!" and after a few years of things...not being different, I decided to approach resolutions a little more cautiously.

The Catholic Church, I have found, structures this time well. The liturgical new year begins with Advent, which is a season of preparation ahead of the Nativity--so the liturgical year begins with "getting ready" and then jumps into the joyful Christmastide, then we get a few weeks of ordinary time before going back into another season of preparation--Lent. Lent leads us right into spring, warm weather, sunny days--so it naturally lends my thought a sense of blooming, of coming up and out--dare I say, even a resurrection.

In short, it feels like my preparation receives a little reward in Christmas, and then the Church bends to the task of preparing for Easter--so my resolutions evolve into penances before they sprout into habits and bloom into lifestyle changes.

Expand full comment