9 Comments

Luxury to me is quiet and stillness. Mine and my husband’s dream is living in a cabin in the woods one day. He says when we retire, but I say why wait that long? Why not work toward making that a reality now? I definitely think my idea of luxury is not the world’s standard. I work in social media and it’s draining. I find myself craving the woods now more than ever.

Expand full comment

Oouf I love today's topic - such good timing as I've been contemplating what luxury means to me this week!

Luxury, to me, is presence. It's when I can be completely present in my life, because I've decided to choose my peace over worry and stress. While having things like nice clothes, house, bags are part of my "dream lifestyle" (a beautiful house in the forest please!)... those things don't matter me if I don't have love or presence in my heart. How can I truly enjoy anything if I'm not present?

I don't think my perspective of luxury matches what is portrayed on social media. A lot of apps are designed to show us the "what" of luxury, but not necessarily the "why" or "how".

Expand full comment

Luxury to me means freedom in many ways...I know most in America are focused on the bigger house and expensive car but I find both stressful & oppressive. A bigger house means more to clean and less time for what I really want to do (or a cleaning service which would mean people in my house regularly... no thanks lol). Expensive cars are usually complicated to maintain - parts that are hard to find, longer shop times, etc. Personally, my idea of a luxury lifestyle is a small (by the American dream’s standards) house surrounded by nature, a place to walk, and all the time in the world to read, study and listen to music.

Expand full comment

I wish I had the luxury of understanding the subtleties of translating what I write in Word into sub stack posts. I wrote an overly long screed but I have almost as much time trying to get it pasted into this and now I have to give up because I'm going to indulge myself with the luxury of a nap. A nap made even more luxurious by the fact that it is also following medical advice. Later this afternoon I will return to the discussion

Expand full comment