6 Comments

Emotions...I tend to want closure and feeling settled fast rather than the process of discussion & exploration.

Cooking ... I find the process therapeutic and tend to enjoy the process more than the meal itself.

Expand full comment
Mar 1, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

This is a REALLY good question.

Arguments or disagreements, with anyone, I am impatient with the process and want to rush to the outcome. It is hard when passions flare and there's misunderstanding. Once a discussion becomes an argument, there's a lot of pericraft required to both calm all parties down and repair relationships. I know there will be peace, and I know that a suitable outcome will be achieved, and I can be really impatient about trying to get there.

This trait of mine makes me really bad at what I call "personal politics" and it got me kicked out of a club in undergrad because I was adamant that my pov was correct and I struggled to put in the persuasion/relationship work to see my idea implemented the way I thought it should be. (Whether I was actually correct is neither here nor there--there's a story here!)

An area where I prefer the process to the outcome is...well, housework is not really the right way to say it. When I am stressed or anxious one way I calm myself down is by finding some simple and repetitive task to do and then just focus on that. I have pretty extreme social anxiety at times and when I was younger I went to this social event and I survived but it drained about all the social energy I had. At the end of the event some of us were helping clean up and they needed someone to mop the floors. It was perfect. I started mopping. It separated me from the lingering crowd while I was still able to contribute something productive and helpful; it was simple and repetitive and had a clear standard for success. It calmed my nerves--I didn't much care about the outcome (clean floor) but valued greatly the process (mopping repetitively).

Expand full comment

As a rule, I'm usually impatient with myself because I'm not getting it all RIGHT NOW! I've decided to take the advice I give writers on my own Substack to do a bit every day without editing until the story is done.

Shockingly, I find myself writing more and with better results.

Crazy.

Expand full comment

Thanks for inviting us to think about this!

I loved the process of creating my two creativity and wellbeing journals. The first was a collaboration with other artists and I just adored it all. The outcome feels hard because then it’s done and you have to market it and sell it and hope people buy it..: it’s not less than the process but it’s definitely harder for me! ✨

Expand full comment
Mar 1, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

There used to be an ad slogan for an ocean liner: "Getting There is Half the Fun". When I do glass fusing or fiber art, the process is wonderfully engrossing (mostly). But when I have to pack it all up to take to a Holiday Bazaar, set up the display, figure how much change I'll need - nah - I just don't have the retail gene. But there's a reason that next to this table are 2 laundry baskets full of fibers, fabric, frill, glitz - and it is the joy of creating. Thank you for bringing this up!

Expand full comment

Flannery O’Connor (my fiction writing mentor) has some wisdom on the process/outcome relationship: the most concern coupled with the least concern.

Expand full comment