5 Comments

This question makes me think of the song "Long Time Girl Gone By," written by Rodney Crowell and Mary Karr and sung by Emmylou Harris, one verse in particular:

The trees look just as pretty when they're bare

Black branches hieroglyphic in the air

The leaves they left are rotted into lace

It's all grace

I love the transitions between seasons, where we see cycles of life and rebirth. This period is particularly beautiful, when I see the fallen leaves, which are preparing the yard for an explosion of new life in the Spring.

Expand full comment

Two things come to mind...first is the wildlife right outside the windows. The second is the routine of home. God is a God of creativity but also one of order (not “orderly” and strict...but He creates order out of chaos. Instead of only darkness, the sun rises and sets each & every day. That kind of order). I find Him hiding in our dinner routine, when the chaos is banished by the regularity of routine, order. He is also found in the scents wafting from the food and the flavors of goodness! There’s the routine but also the beauty within the routine.

Expand full comment

We’ve been dog sitting for my son, and I have felt something cathartic in throwing his toy over and over and over for him to fetch--and mostly because of his eagerness and joy of chasing after it every time. It’s contentment in a solitary, repetitive act. It feels a bit like my prayers--when I start, I may be going through the motions, but at some point my heart changes and I find such peace in the repetition of my coming back to Him over and over again for the same issues. I’m not sure I explained that very well, but that’s my little thing currently.

Expand full comment