5 Comments

The image of a forest fire that has burned through, but has in fact prepared for new life seems an analogy. I've had seasons of coming apart from things, for greater things. There seems something to that. It is spiritual discipline, but requires intentionality. The set apartness, which is holiness, is a sure thing!

Expand full comment

Growing up as an introverted highly sensitive, I always believed both were “wrong”... that I shouldn’t be either. It took until my 30s to realize how much I was trying to be someone I’m not, someone God didn’t create me to be. I had to let go of societal pressure (and the voices of teachers, family, and other authority-figures telling me to be louder) to embrace my true nature in order to thrive. 🌿

Expand full comment

Apologies that this is not a direct answer to your question, but, “the image of holy fire: something that seems to destroy, but in reality inspires rebirth and true thriving” gave me a powerful inspiration. You should study phenomenology if you have not already. You have a natural inclination for it.

Expand full comment

My husband and I have been going to marriage counseling (this is a good thing) to help us work through some sticking points and because at the five year mark (🎉) we knew it was time for some maintenance. Our counselor has been walking us through the areas we’re gripping, grasping at control, exposing our fears. It seems we cling to fear itself, too afraid to let go - the irony! Fear of loss, fear of having nothing, fear of dismissal. These certainly need to be acknowledged and then dismantled in order for us to thrive, individually and as a family!

Expand full comment
May 31, 2023·edited May 31, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

I'd say anger/resentment (with a dash of fear). In general, but for me I'm talking about the 2020 disaster and how it affected me. For years (it's still unreal that it's been years), I was stuck in the past. But I've let them go (trying to, anyways). I gave it up to God and moved on.

Expand full comment