5 Comments

Getting involved in all the community things--the monthly town meeting, the clean-up days, the markets, the parades. I’m in a season where I need to draw inward a bit, to take care of myself and my family. There aren’t enough hours in the day to do it all...so I’m not! Sometimes we have to choose between better and best. I’m choosing best.

Expand full comment

Make-up! For many years I had to be out of the house daily & my job required a level of “put togetherness”, plus all the women in my family had the mentality that you got dressed in “real clothes” and never, ever went out without make-up. Frankly, you never went past breakfast without it unless you were sick! This carried over into my adult years. It was a necessary habit, like brushing one’s teeth. Several years ago I transitioned to working full time from home, and eventually (sometime during the pandemic) I realized there was zero reason to be exhausting myself with the whole formalness of “getting ready” each & every day. Not to say I’m working in my pajamas, but a client on the phone doesn’t care if I’m wearing make-up! This started overflowing into realizing neither does the cashier at the grocery store. It’s been very freeing! I still wear make-up but have changed how I approach this habit. What I once viewed as a daily given that proved my worthiness to be in public at all is now a choice.

Expand full comment