4 Comments

I think sometimes- many times, if I'm honest- I expect God to work on my schedule and my very self absorbed scale. I sense an emptiness somewhere in my interior or exterior world, and I want God to fill it in the way I have envisioned.

But lots of times things move at a much bigger scale than I ever could imagine. Glaciers carved out the valleys surrounding me, and for thousands of years, they filled that space. Then they melted, emptying out vast spaces, spaces which didn't get refilled exactly, but nevertheless became fertile and lush in that emptiness.

I like to remember that during times that I'm feeling empty, and wondering why God isn't filling that space in ways I can comprehend. Sometimes I'm being emptied of that which is blocking fertility and abundance.

Expand full comment

I’ve found it’s when I’m most empty, most dry, I have more room for the Holy Spirit. At first, I often spend a lot of time trying to fill back up with the wrong things. However, they never fail to evaporate quickly. They don’t really fill me up the way the Spirit and God’s beautiful creation can.

Expand full comment

I just intended to read and Ponder this discussion and then return. But Cari and Megan have given me more food for thought than I will be able to give somebody else at this time.

Right now my family's life is filled with chaos. There are signs that it is likely to be resolved over the weekend but I know that when I have been focused on something for a long time, even a good resolution can leave my brain trying to solve what has already been solved and leave behind a feeling of incompleteness. Perhaps what I have read from those two will ease that process

Expand full comment