1 Comment
Mar 22, 2023Liked by S.E. Reid

I find constant generosity in how my family (both husband and young kids) reflexively help me to navigate this life of chronic pain. As a mom who’s (constantly) overstimulated, it’s easy to find anger, frustration, overwhelm, sadness. But as my kids get older and they added more words and understanding to their tool belts, they meet me where I am, and where I must be on some days. My husband helps tend to the emotion and guilt that arises surrounding all of this. It’s easy to think that this is how it *should* be, but real life is messier than that. These are new developments, and there will always be growing pains as we make space for each other as well as ourselves. We are all human, growing and learning around each other, but it’s a comfort that my family holds me, and we make life work (despite the chaos).

Expand full comment