2 Comments
Sep 14, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

In your wonderful "Wildfire" devotional the other day, you wrote this about the smoke: "It was not dangerous enough to keep us indoors but it was pervasive, stifling. The animal in me felt vaguely panicked, ready to run at a moment’s notice. There is something deep within that recognizes the danger." That's a spot-on observation! I had that same sense of deep but vague unease all last weekend. When our souls sense that disquieting haze, the feeling that This Is Not Quite Right is visceral and impossible to shake on our own. Only when "God's healing breath" breaks through can we breathe deeply again.

Expand full comment

It’s taken experience for me to be patient. When hazy seasons happened when I was younger, I would begin to panic. But, with experience I now know these seasons don’t last forever, and I just let them be what they are. This too shall pass, I now know. And, it seems, with patience the rain comes faster. Whether it does or simply appears so doesn’t matter, what matters is the hazy, heavier seasons don’t last forever.

Expand full comment