6 Comments
May 11, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

Ooh, this is a good topic idea!!!

I was taught that “God is a spirit and does not have a body like Man (human beings), but I was also told that God the Father would never be anything like a mother. It was implied that Eve was bad for her part in the Fall and Adam was not really to be blamed. It was later added to by calling the confusing time of menses— the Curse. This topic actually has shaped my whole life. I wanted nothing to do with being a woman or mother because of these teachings and because there were not women around who lifted up being a woman past the idea that Eve messed life up for the rest of us. My God stepped into my life and wooed me by Love when all I felt was deadly hatred for the very being I was created to be and become. When God brought life to life inside my womb, I knew that He was God and I was His Goddess. I still don’t feel like I have the right words to convey that exactly.

It’s like when composing music— I have to turn down the background symphony in my head in order to hear the melody and place the words in the right order and time.

God holds the space for me to create!

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022Liked by S.E. Reid

When I was much younger, I more or less assumed that God was a benign but fairly disinterested being, less of a Father than a rich uncle who showed up now and then and "made things work out." It didn't occur to me then to see God as the Passionate Pursuer who came to seek and save the lost (including me), or to see Him as intimately involved with every iota of His creation (including me). Now I have a better grasp (albeit tiny and human) of God's true nature. He used to be easier to ignore -- but not any more!

Expand full comment

Love this question. Recently I’ve been finding my initial gut instincts were actually correct growing up....but certain denominational / theological leanings I was exposed to had made me doubt these. I’m still working through untangling all of that.

Expand full comment